By Jon Weisman

Clayton Kershaw, Corey Seager, Rich Hill and Justin Turner are finalists in four categories of the MLB Players Choice Awards, which will be announced November 9 on MLB Network.

Seager is up for outstanding National League rookie, though not for outstanding player. Kershaw, on the other hand, made it into the running for outstanding NL pitcher despite his relatively limited innings in 2016.

Hill is a finalist for Comeback Player of the Year in the NL (though he pitched in the American League last year), and Turner is one of three who could win the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, given to the player who inspires others through his on-field performances and contributions to his community.

The finalists in the relevant categories:

National League

  • Outstanding Player: Nolan Arenado (Colorado Rockies), Kris Bryant (Chicago Cubs), Daniel Murphy (Washington Nationals)
  • Outstanding Pitcher: Kyle Hendricks (Chicago Cubs), Kershaw (Dodgers), Max Scherzer (Washington Nationals)
  • Outstanding Rookie: Aledmys Diaz (St. Louis Cardinals), Seager (Dodgers), Trea Turner (Washington Nationals)
  • Comeback Player: Jose Fernandez (Miami Marlins), Hill (Dodgers), Jean Segura (Arizona Diamondbacks)

American League

  • Outstanding Player:  Jose Altuve (Houston Astros), Mookie Betts (Boston Red Sox), Mike Trout (Los Angeles Angels)
  • Outstanding Pitcher: Zach Britton (Baltimore Orioles), Corey Kluber (Cleveland Indians), Rick Porcello (Boston Red Sox)
  • Outstanding Rookie: Michael Fulmer (Detroit Tigers), Tyler Naquin (Cleveland Indians), Gary Sanchez (New York Yankees)
  • Comeback Player: Yu Darvish (Texas Rangers), Ian Desmond (Texas Rangers), Mark Trumbo (Baltimore Orioles)

Both Leagues

  • Player of Year: Altuve, Betts, David Ortiz (Boston Red Sox)
  • Man of the Year: Curtis Granderson (New York Mets), Anthony Rizzo (Chicago Cubs), Turner (Dodgers)

The Players Choice Awards benefit the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves. Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. The eight league winners receive $20,000 grants each and the two overall winners receive $50,000 grants each.